Splicing CDs

Announcements for Auditions, competitions, and the results
fatemokid
bugler
bugler

Splicing CDs

Post by fatemokid »

I am new to making cds for auditions and I was wondering what the acceptability of splicing recordings is. I have been trying to make an audition cd, and I can't seem to get it all in one take.
Is it acceptable to record half at one time and half at another, and splice them together?
BoyFromTaint
pro musician
pro musician

Post by BoyFromTaint »

I think so. What is the difference between playing something in its entirety a gazillion times and taking the best take -or- playing something a half a gazillion times and taking half of one and half of another take?

I agree with the previous post that you always want to present your best product. (Almost) everyone makes a mistake now and then and it shows pride to want to fix/modify it. I'd rather hear an audition tape in which an auditioner took the time to present h/h best playing than one that leaves blantant errors.

On the other hand, it is very difficult to hide bad playing by editing recordings. A person's tone, articulation, rhythm, intonation, and general sense of musicianship will all show through regardless of the amount of editing that can be done, so long as the playing is authentic.

Some folks argue that it is "unfair advantage" for a person to submit an edited recording for any reason. But, be it an audition for a job, a solo competition or an acceptance tape for a school, you must at some point play live. If you've managed to disguise your playing to such an extent on a recording that you do not sound like yourself, it will certainly become apparent at the live audition.

Some hints on recording and editing for submission or publication:

Make sure that the sound quality of the recording adequately represents your sound. This can be accomplished by using the best equipment, hall or studio, and recording engineer that you can find/afford.