All Quiet on the Audition Front Bookmark and Share

Announcements for jobs, competitions, and the results

All Quiet on the Audition Front

Postby dante jones » Mon Aug 28, 2017 7:29 pm

Rumors of auditions and positions abound, but so far it's been a quiet summer in the world of professional tuba, a world whose inhabitants could make up possibly the world's smallest and most haphazard nation state.

So let's air some thoughts out.

What are you, the professional tubist, doing in this recent dry season to keep the chops up? brass band and practicing in my school band building - i'm a teacher not a kid or a weirdo

What rumors are you hearing? that we all live inside a dream

What foods are you avoiding? beets and olives for me
Your task is not to seek for love, but merely to seek and find all the barriers within yourself that you have built against it. - Rumi
28 Come to me, all who labor and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest. - Jesus of Nazareth
dante jones
lurker
lurker

Re: All Quiet on the Audition Front

Postby THE TUBA » Mon Aug 28, 2017 9:42 pm

dante jones wrote:that we all live inside a dream

...but who is the dreamer?
[/post]
THE TUBA
4 valves
4 valves

Postby the elephant » Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:03 pm

Don't gripe. When I was on the audition circuit there were three over an eight year stretch; quite the drought. When Mr. Jacobs retired a long, slow domino effect occurred that is finally slowing down after about two decades of openings (plus the natural fact of attrition).
In the multiverse there is a TubeNet where we talk about how we greased our cat with toothpaste and hot sauce so it would fly better in the rain. Even then someone would ask whether the cat was lacquered or silver plated.
the elephant
Papa Legba
Papa Legba

Postby bloke » Mon Aug 28, 2017 10:21 pm

Several years ago, I was asked to play with a per-service orchestra.
I shrugged my shoulders, looked at my schedule, and basically said, "uhh...OK". :|