Return player question - intonation

The bulk of the musical talk
callbr549
lurker
lurker

Return player question - intonation

Post by callbr549 »

I am starting to play tuba again after 40 years. I played in high school and was not bad (qualified for all-state band once). I have been practicing for a couple of months now, working through a book my high school band director assigned “Total Range” plus an Intermediate Method book. This was all to get ready to play with a community band in the town I moved to recently. I’m keeping up with the band OK now, except my intonation is a constant struggle - very sharp in lower ranges, a bit flat in higher ranges. I’m playing a Yamaha YBB-103 3/4 tuba (a long story how I ended up with that). I know now that is not a great instrument. My question is, how much of the intonation problem is horn related (an excuse to upgrade) versus me just not being very good anymore (more practice?).
Beyond16
lurker
lurker

Re: Return player question - intonation

Post by Beyond16 »

I am a beginning tuba player with a YBB-104. From what I remember reading, the only thing better than a YBB-104 is a YBB-103 (because of front facing valves). That is, comparing it to other 3 valve tubas its size and weight, the YBB-103 probably ranks pretty well. As far as intonation, I don't notice anything unusual, beyond the limitations of 3 valve instruments on certain low notes. On the other hand, my ears are shot I think.
Ann Reid
bugler
bugler

Post by Ann Reid »

I’m also an “OLD Newbie” and having come from the Dark Side (woodwinds) I’m shocked at how much difference mouthpieces can make. I played on the same mouthpieces on alto and bass clarinets for 10 years and never switched off, but now I have a little arsenal of mouthpieces for euphoniums.