Seeking advice for college level instruction

The bulk of the musical talk
adam0408
3 valves
3 valves

Seeking advice for college level instruction

Post by adam0408 »

I've been off this board for quite some time, so hello again! I hope everyone in this community is happy and healthy.

This is going to be a long post, so if you read to the end, thank you. I appreciate any consideration, advice, or criticism.

Some background- I am an adjunct instructor of tuba and bass at a small Midwestern University, approximately 2000-3000 students. When I say we are in the middle of nowhere, I mean it. Our population base to draw students from is small and the geographical area is quite large. Our recruitment issues are a huge concern, as we have to consider a quad state area and entice prospective students away from much larger universities that are a similar distance from home, and often have a lot more money to offer students. The students that come to this university are typically from very small high school programs, which often have less than 100 students in music in k-12. The prospective music majors that come from bigger high school programs do not often consider this university because, honestly, why would they? They can go to a much larger program and get "better" instruction for a similar price. As a result, the music program here gets a lot of under performing students here who want to be music majors. This is not to say these kids lack potential. It just means that they are quite often behind the curve on their ability levels and technique. For all intents and purposes our music department has been, and will continue to be, 100% music education. Which is fine.

From the handful of students I've had over the last few years, I've gained a few insights that have left me with problems I am apparently not equipped to solve.