6/4 Tuba intonation

The bulk of the musical talk
CooperBayliff
bugler
bugler

6/4 Tuba intonation

Post by CooperBayliff »

Why do a lot of 6/4 tubas have intonation issues? Can all the intonation issues be fixed by just pulling slides?
MW 195P Fafner - Doug Elliott MP
Sousaswag
3 valves
3 valves

Re: 6/4 Tuba intonation

Post by Sousaswag »

Some are better than others

Short answer: Yeah, you can pull slides and play them in tune. I'm no designer but my understanding if the tuba tapers too much or too little, they'll have pitch problems.

I'm guessing all these 6/4 questions are coming from when I told you I wouldn't buy one for college, so I'll give you all my opinions here... Again. You can take it or leave it. I'm not that much older than you and was JUST this excited when I was buying my first CC. Do your research. Just Google stuff and click the TubeNet links and read through them, broken as they are.

Sidebar: I'm an elementary band teacher who also teaches private tuba students. I also went through college as a tuba player and did the thing. I'm not a "professional tuba player" but I know more than enough to steer you in the right direction.

I don't recommend 6/4 tubas to any of my students who have been interested in purchasing a CC horn. Here's why.

Resale. This doesn't apply to the German stuff. The Chinese stuff depreciates a lot. That means, if you buy one of these things for $10,000, you might only get $8,000 for it should you sell later. If you were to buy a Meinl Weston Thor for $10,000, you'll likely be able to get $10,000 back for it should you sell.