How do-able is the Vaughan Williams concerto on BBb tuba?

The bulk of the musical talk
tuba
bugler
bugler

How do-able is the Vaughan Williams concerto on BBb tuba?

Post by tuba »

Wondering how do-able the V.W. concerto is on BBb? Especially the 2nd mvt?
Last edited by tuba on Wed Feb 21, 2024 9:12 am, edited 1 time in total.
tclements
TubeNet Sponsor
TubeNet Sponsor

Re: How do-able is the Vaughan Williams concerto on BBb tuba?

Post by tclements »

Not. And why? It was written for F.
tuba
bugler
bugler

Post by tuba »

tclements wrote: Tue Feb 20, 2024 1:02 pm Not. And why? It was written for F.
I think some years ago I saw someone (Army musician?) do it on CC in a recital. If CC is possible, seems like BBb might be in the realm of possibility.

Unfortunately, I sold my F tuba shortly after I completed my master's, more than 15 years ago, as I knew I did not intend to continue to a DMA.
windshieldbug
Once got the "hand" as a cue
Once got the "hand" as a cue

Post by windshieldbug »

tuba wrote: Tue Feb 20, 2024 7:30 pm
tclements wrote: Tue Feb 20, 2024 1:02 pm Not. And why? It was written for F.
I think some years ago I saw someone (Army musician?) do it on CC in a recital. If CC is possible, seems like BBb might be in the realm of possibility.

Unfortunately, I sold my F tuba shortly after I completed my master's, more than 15 years ago, as I knew I did not intend to continue to a DMA.
Without a doubt.
You have to be able to play it.
The F only makes it more secure.
Instead of talking to your plants, if you yelled at them would they still grow, but only to be troubled and insecure?
MikeS
bugler
bugler

Post by MikeS »