Cerveny vs Yamaha

The bulk of the musical talk
Tom
5 valves
5 valves

Post by Tom »

I won't make the mistake of saying that Yamaha is higher quality than Cerveny, because that isn't the case.

I had a Cerveny BBb at one time, perhaps the model you're looking into.

You might have some issues with the brass Cerveny builds with if you want to just have a "knock around" tuba. I think the Yamaha would take more of a beating than the Cerveny, but I like the Cerveny better overall than the Yamaha tubas (except YFB series).
The Darling Of The Thirty-Cents-Sharp Low D♭'s.
Tom
5 valves
5 valves

Post by Tom »

I'm not an expert on the subject, but I think the "Cerveny sound" comes from the thin brass and the large valve bores.

The person to talk Cerveny with would be Jay Bertolet...he had a big 601 CC for a while and did a ton of work on it (I think it's for sale now by the current owner). He seems to know them in and out. Perhaps he'd lend his opinion of Cerveny stock equipment if you contact him.
The Darling Of The Thirty-Cents-Sharp Low D♭'s.
CJ Krause
4 valves
4 valves

Post by CJ Krause »

Last edited by CJ Krause on Wed Sep 28, 2005 1:41 am, edited 1 time in total.
cjk
5 valves
5 valves

Post by cjk »

maybe i'm missing something here, but If you don't want to take your shiny new tuba to gigs, why did you buy it?
Tubatoad
bugler
bugler

Post by Tubatoad »

bbtubaman wrote:Hey Wayne,
Personally I would take a good Cerveny, any model Cerveny, any day over a Yamaha.
The rotors are faster and the sound is warmer and the intonation is a lot better than a Yamah 641.
Amen to that - my Cerveny 683 BBb compact is all those things. I can't speak about Yamahas, but I love my horn. Others must like it too, as I keep getting invited back. :D
Pete (the Tubatoad)
Dan Schultz
TubaTinker
TubaTinker

Post by Dan Schultz »