How did you get started playing tuba?

The bulk of the musical talk
docpugh
bugler
bugler

Post by docpugh »

I'd be interested to hear everyone's stories about how they got started playing tuba.

I started playing tuba in the 7th grade. Our middle school band didn't have a tuba player. The band director made a desperate plea for someone to try it. Everyone's reaction was the same: "what dork are we gonna get to play that thing!" It was a huge King BBb with bell front sitting in the back of the band room in a stand smelling all musty. I eventually volunteered for it, like it was my civic duty or something to save our middle school band from having no tuba. I was OK on trumpet, 2nd chair, but asked if I could try it. The band director was a little hesitant at first, giving up his second chair trumpet for the tuba. I guess he was hoping for some slacky woodwind to do it. Anyway, he was at wits end for a tuba player and said he'd let me do it. By this point I think he was ready to bring in his grandmother to do it. I took some lessons with him during his planning period, starting out with the Rubank beginner methods. It really seemed to click for me. The rest is history.

What about the rest of you?
==============================
Ivan Darrell Pugh, Jr., DO
http://docpugh.mav.net
docpugh@yahoo.com
==============================
phoenix
3 valves
3 valves

Post by phoenix »

Started in 4th grade. I was a big kid and I thought the instrument sounded awesome, just the way it resonated through the room in which I first heard it. I told the band director and he wents nuts knowing he was getting a tuba in an elementary band! So far, I am an accomplished musician on tuba, making All-State two years in a row, last being ranked first. Okay, enough bragging. But yea just an awesome instrument!!!!!

Brett Miller
Student, North Penn High School
TUBA ROCKS!!!!
Lew
5 valves
5 valves

Post by Lew »