thoughts on the Yamaha YFB822

The bulk of the musical talk
Getzeng50s
pro musician
pro musician

thoughts on the Yamaha YFB822

Post by Getzeng50s »

Ok, i am looking for peoples thoughts on the 822. I have been playing one for about 2 years and am beginning to wonder why i dont see many people withy them. are they too expensive? too big? what? looking for input from other people.

I play @ NEC in boston and want to be an orchestral player... wondering if i made the right choice... and looking into getting another horn.. do i keep this one? or buy another and add to my collection
Santo Domingo Festival Orchestra
Orchestra of Indian Hill
Cape Ann Symphony
TexTuba
5 valves
5 valves

Post by TexTuba »

:|
Last edited by TexTuba on Tue May 13, 2008 9:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
rascaljim
pro musician
pro musician

Post by rascaljim »

Do you like it? Do you like how it sounds? Do you like how it sounds throughout the register? Do you like how it feels in your lap? Do you like it's intonation? Do you like you're timbre for specific periods and orchestral pieces? Do you like how you sound on it?

If you answered yes to all these, keep it. I don't think there's as much 'you gotta play this one or you don't know what your doin' going on with bass tubas as there are with contra bass tubas. If you like it, stick with it, if it's holding you back or the sound doesn't match your concept, perhaps it's time to do some lookin around. You might also try bring your F along when tryin some other ones and bring someone who knows your sound along for an outside opinion. Things sound different under the bell.

Hope this helps
Jim
Dylan King
YouTube Tubist
YouTube Tubist

Post by Dylan King »

Tommy Johnson has been playing his 822 almost exclusively for the past 12 years or so. I bet you have heard it on half the movies you have seen. He digs it because it plays everything with ease, low and high.