Euphonium Mouthpieces

The bulk of the musical talk
nicholeu
lurker
lurker

Euphonium Mouthpieces

Post by nicholeu »

Hello.

I am currently on a hunt for a new euphonium mouthpiece, but I would love some advice. I play on a Yamaha 641S euphonium. I have tried out a miraphone 16T (which was awesome) but I don't know where I could buy one, a marcellus, which I also am fond of. This one is very comfortable with not a lot of resistance. I also tried a Bach 5GS, but didn't like how the rim is so small and cuts in. I also tried a doug elliot which felt much more direct with the air, but I was playing on a trombone mouthpiece, so the cup and rim were very small. I see online that Brian Bowman and Steve Mead make their own mouthpieces, but I have not tried them yet. I guess I want to know what other euph players out there have liked and recommend.

By the way my name is Nichole and I am a masters student. :)
Erik_Sweden
bugler
bugler

Re: Euphonium Mouthpieces

Post by Erik_Sweden »

Hi,

Amateur player here, and I love my Denis Wick Steve Mead Ultra (SM3X)
Miraphone 497 Hagen BBb Tuba, PT-88
Besson BE2052 Prestige Euphonium, Dennis Wick SM3X
menroth
bugler
bugler

Post by menroth »

I use a Denis Wick 4AL gold plated trombone piece or sometimes a Bach 6 1/2 on the same instrument, a Yamaha 641S. These two have worked fine for me for years, but that's no recommendation since I find mouthpiece choise to be very individual.

Regards,
Martin
pgym
4 valves
4 valves

Post by pgym »

It would help to know what you like and don't about the Marcellus (and the 16T), i.e., you've said it's comfortable and and free blowing; what don't you like about it that's making you want to try something else: is it too free blowing? too unfocused? too flexible/tight? How about the sound: is it too bright/dark/warm/cold/narrow/broad/????