Vintage York Master tuba questions

The bulk of the musical talk
questforfish
lurker
lurker

Vintage York Master tuba questions

Post by questforfish »

Hi All,
I am new here as Ive just discovered this web forum. I have been a musician all my life, playing alto sax, flute, keyboards, and guitar. But just recently, I acquired a vintage York Master tuba and I don't know anything about it, such as its history as to where it was made, its age, or its value. I'm including pictures so you can see the instrument. Also, it has a number on it: 582384. I hope someone can help me get to know this tuba and thus ultimately decide if I will keep it or sell it, thanks! :tuba:
Bev

Ok, got a few pics attached now thanks to fellow poster :)
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Last edited by questforfish on Sun Aug 21, 2016 7:43 pm, edited 7 times in total.
Dan Schultz
TubaTinker
TubaTinker

Re: Vintage York Master tuba questions

Post by Dan Schultz »

You can use your 'paint' program to reduce the size of the images to less than 264K (I think that's the magic number) and they should post OK. An alternative is to use a picture hosting site an post a link.

Judging by the serial number you may have one of the German (B & S) York 'Master' tubas. If that's the case it's probably around fifty years old.

Send an image to danschultz@wowway.com" target="_blank
Dan Schultz
"The Village Tinker"
http://www.thevillagetinker.com" target="_blank
Current 'stable'... Rudolf Meinl 5/4, Marzan (by Willson) euph, King 2341, Alphorn, and other strange stuff.
questforfish
lurker
lurker

Post by questforfish »

Oh thanks Dan. That is my problem for posting the pics so I will try that right now. Thanks for your information!
arpthark
5 valves
5 valves

Post by arpthark »

Looks like a baritone.
questforfish
lurker
lurker

Post by questforfish »