My New/Old Horn

The bulk of the musical talk
jmichaellopp
lurker
lurker

My New/Old Horn

Post by jmichaellopp »

Hl!

My name is Mike Lopp. I am a music teacher in North Carolina. After a hiatus of many years I decided to rejoin the Tuba Community. I recently bought a horn. I would like to share it with you and ask a few questions.

http://s345.photobucket.com/user/Timpan ... v.jpg.html" target="_blank

My new/old horn is a "Frankentuba", built by James Thomas Newell in Eugene Oregon. Jim was a aircraft repairman during World War II and the Korean War. He later began a music store in Eugene Oregon in the 1970's. His tuba playing career began in High School (An E-flat) which he continued to play during his stint in the military.
He chronicled this in his memoir "The Valley of The Stinkin Horse." (available on Amazon)
In addition, he was a founding member of the Oregon Tuba Association in Eugene Oregon. The group has been together since 1979. In 2013, their 37th year, they had 200 Tubas and 1500 people in the audience. The group was originally led by David Grosvenor and has many special guests such as, Dr. John Bascom Rodger Vaughan, The TubaDours,
Jim built 6 tubas himself. The last he considered his masterpiece. (see book) It began life as a three valve BB -flat Wurlitzer which he converted into a 5 valve CC with a 24" Conn bell.
The proceeds from the sell of Jim's horns went to a scholarship program for tuba players and Tuba related activities in the Eugene Oregon area. One may purchase David Grovenor's Christmas Tuba Carols by looking on Craigslist in the Eugene Oregon area. Proceeds go to the same group.
Personally, I feel honored to have a small place in the history of this instrument. I am interested in knowing more of the history of this horn. On the second valve the serial number reads L61402. I am most interested in knowing its size and who manufactured it originally. (I don't think Wurlitzer did their own manufacturing)