Moving Back to Bb (Woofy?)

The bulk of the musical talk
Voisi1ev
bugler
bugler

Moving Back to Bb (Woofy?)

Post by Voisi1ev »

So I've been playing primarily on my 52J since about 2002. I'm going to start playing in a Brass Band in a bit and have been getting some work done on a 2341w as it seems a bit silly to play a C in a brass band.

I feel like I get a real woofy sound on the 2341. I've tried other MPs and played a bit on a Bb 186 and got the same feeling.

Not to start a big thing on Bb v C, but is that pretty normal when moving back and forth? The perception that the Bb horn is a bit woofy/unclear?

I know there are 5000 other possibilities, but was curious what thoughts some of you people. And by "you people" I mean tuba players.
Voisi1ev
bugler
bugler

Re: Moving Back to Bb (Woofy?)

Post by Voisi1ev »

Thanks. If I end up going all in I'll need to take a look at one.
The Big Ben
6 valves
6 valves

Post by The Big Ben »

Why would it be "silly" to play a C tuba in a brass band? Playing music written in Bb on a C tuba takes a trick but talk to a horn player about playing music not in the same key as the instrument. If the sound is there.……
barry grrr-ero
4 valves
4 valves

Post by barry grrr-ero »

I found that using a shallower mouthpiece helped to minimize 'woofy'-ness on big BBb tubas. In my student days, I always used a Miraphone C3 or C4. FYI.
JCalkin
pro musician
pro musician

Post by JCalkin »

The Big Ben wrote:Why would it be "silly" to play a C tuba in a brass band? Playing music written in Bb on a C tuba takes a trick but talk to a horn player about playing music not in the same key as the instrument. If the sound is there.……
At NABBA I noticed quite a few CC tubas (and a few F tubas also) in the competing bands. Perhaps were the judges not behind a screen this might be more of an issue, but maybe not.