Educational predicament.

The bulk of the musical talk
Salazarsam33
bugler
bugler

Educational predicament.

Post by Salazarsam33 »

Hello everyone, I have a question for the teachers and professionals who know about the educational system in the States.

Bear with me a brief explanation of my background and current situation.

I earned my degree studying abroad that is equivalent to a masters or at least a bachelor's here in the states. It is not music related whatsoever.

I had been playing a lot while studying abroad, even taking private lessons from the states orchestra (who happened to be a graduate of long Beach). I sube in the orchestra a couple of times and got other gigs, most people assumed I was a tubista from the states like my teacher even tho I was in a different field.

Finishing my degree has led me to believe that tuba performance is what I wish to pursue and do with my life.

Now I am back in the states and looking for the best way to get into school for tuba. Many people have suggested that I go into a masters since I already have a bachelor's. I just have to prep for the audition. I do feel however that I lack knowledge in theory ND history. A friend of mine said that if I fail the placement exam I would just have to take a remedial class. I don't really want to go into a masters thinking I will end up taking extra courses, so a friend of mine suggested I do some sort of performers certificate at a university with a good teacher to learn a little more in theory and history while I polish up my skills with a good teacher.

I am new to the whole music education scene so I don't know if the performers certificate is something universities offer, and if I old obtain a masters in tuba performance without a bachelor's in music.

So my questions basically bold down to.
1.) what is the best route for someone with a bachelor's who plays a decent Mount of tuba.