Sousaphone for Noob.

The bulk of the musical talk
S.G.F.
bugler
bugler

Sousaphone for Noob.

Post by S.G.F. »

So straight up, what’s the best sousaphone to march with? I know it’s an opinion based question, but I have no experience with sousaphones.

Weight is a factor, have to stand at parade rest a lot, and often am the only bass instrument in a 30 piece marching wind band. Would prefer BBflat, but can play both keys. Have been playing a Besson 994, but it’s just killing me. And my back. And my leg. And my face.

Have at me!! Happy to hear answers as long or as short as you like.

Thanks in advance.
Nirschl York
JBL Classic
Rudi Meinl 5/4 Bflat
Besson Sovreign 994

YouTube; SGFTuba
Freelance, Teacher & Paid Gig operator.
Sydney, Australia
opus37
5 valves
5 valves

Re: Sousaphone for Noob.

Post by opus37 »

Look for a fiberglass sousaphone. Most have a decent sound, especially on the field, and they weigh the least.
Brian
1892 Courtiere (J.W. Pepper Import) Helicon Eb
1980's Yamaha 321 euphonium
2007 Miraphone 383 Starlight
2010 Kanstul 66T
2016 Bubbie Mark 5
sousaphone68
4 valves
4 valves

Post by sousaphone68 »

As the happy owner of sousaphone and a helicon I find marching with a helicon to be easier than the sousaphone.
A helicon is lighter and better balanced and is less bother to transport around.
A sousaphone has slightly more wow factor as they are not common in Ireland.
I got both of mine from eBay a Conn 26k and a maker unknown european rotary valved helicon.
Cant carry a tune but I can carry a tuba.
Donn
6 valves
6 valves

Post by Donn »

sousaphone68 wrote:As the happy owner of sousaphone and a helicon I find marching with a helicon to be easier than the sousaphone.
A helicon is lighter and better balanced and is less bother to transport around.
I got both of mine from eBay a Conn 26k and a maker unknown european rotary valved helicon.