Performance vs. Education

The bulk of the musical talk
Tubaman485
bugler
bugler

Performance vs. Education

Post by Tubaman485 »

I have noticed a certain trend in the music world that I want to bring out and discuss. Why is it when people go to college the level of playing changes according to your major. I have been a student and NAU for 3 years now and its the same at most other places I go but people feel you dont have to be as good a player to be education as you do for performance. Does it really matter? Why can't everyone just strive for their top level of playing instead of saying, "Oh I am here to learn to teach not play"? In my opinion as an education major in school you better know your stuff on your primary instrument because if you cant teach your self you can't teach others.

Now before I get slammed by all of you let me just say that I am NOT saying that weaker players should not study music, I am asking why being content with that because you are an education major?

Give me your thoughts

JB
MartyNeilan
6 valves
6 valves

Post by MartyNeilan »

Ditto what Barry said; However there is NO REASON why an education major has to play to a level any less than a performance major. (Of course, some may choose to, thinking their livelihood does not depend on their chops.)

Don't anyone give me those lame excuses about taking extra education classes - you can squeeze 2-4 hours a day of practicing into any college schedule if you are determined enough, no matter what your major. Just cut back on TV, pizza parties, wasting time BS'ing in the student lounge, etc. Some of the best undergrads to come out of schools have been ed majors.
Adjunct Instructor, Trevecca Nazarene University
Leland
pro musician
pro musician

Post by Leland »

barry guerrero wrote: But you darn well better know something about the instruments that they're going to be playing.