Shout-out

The bulk of the musical talk
Ted Cox
pro musician
pro musician

Shout-out

Post by Ted Cox »

This past Tuesday I spent the day with Martin Wilk working on two of my tubas. Two of my good friends recently had work done by Martin and after seeing his work and hearing the results, I drove to Palmyra, Indiana to have Martin work his magic. I've been a musician for 50 years - Martin's work is the best I've ever seen. The Rudy 5/4 I bought early last month was exceptional, but now it is amazing. I offer this praise to those who don't know where to go for high quality work. My 1,500 mile drive was well worth it. Most of the work Martin did was taking the lead pipe off, removed dents, rounded it back out, two small patches, aligned the valves, and removed dents from the tuning slide. All of that took at least 6 hours. The lead pipe is off the bell now. My other three tubas also have the lead pipes lifted off the bell. There are lots of great technicians out in the world, but if you don't have Martin on your list - add him!

Ted
happyroman
3 valves
3 valves

Re: Shout-out

Post by happyroman »

Hey Ted!

Glad to see you are a proud new member of the 5/4 Rudy Club. I am curious, since you say you have had the lead pipe lifted off the bell on three of your tubas (and obviously consider it to be an improvement). How do they play differently and what, specifically, do you hear in how they respond with that adjustment? I would assume it allows the bell to vibrate more freely, but am interested in how that affects how the tuba plays and sounds. Best regards.
Andy
Davidus1
bugler
bugler

Post by Davidus1 »

Congrats! Glad you are happy with his work.
John 3:16

Mack Brass 200S BBb
Yamaha YSL-630 .525 Trombone
Conn 15I Euphonium
Mack Brass Euphonium
Shostytuben
bugler
bugler

Post by Shostytuben »