Nonstandard solos for auditions

The bulk of the musical talk
BopEuph
pro musician
pro musician

Nonstandard solos for auditions

Post by BopEuph »

Just out of curiosity.

What are the feelings of orchestras if an auditionee was to use a solo outside of the standard tuba rep? Say, like the Mozart Bassoon Concerto down an octave or something?

I'm asking since I'm transferring to a tuba player from euphonium playing, and I have a ton of repertoire that would take little work to move to tuba, when compared to, say, the Vaughan-Williams.
Nick
k001k47
5 valves
5 valves

Re: Nonstandard solos for auditions

Post by k001k47 »

When I was a freshman in kollij, the audition material was 2 contrasting pieces, or excerpts of choice. I transposed the Siegfried horn call for one of them, and got the chair.

. . . but I was the only one to audition so. . . :lol:

||If I were on an audition panel, I might find it refreshing to listen to something other than the boring standard rep tubaists have to choose from.
Dan Bradley
bugler
bugler

Post by Dan Bradley »

There is nothing wrong with using other literature unless the solo is specified. In fact, it's a cool thing to do.

From what I understand, Gene Pokorny played "Prelude to the Afternoon of a Faun" at his Chicago Symphony audition (flute piece) and Carol Jantsch played a trumpet piece by Allen Vizzuti at the Philadelphia Orchestra audition.

Good luck,
Dan Bradley
VA
Mark

Post by Mark »

In your example, I'd be a little concerned about a bassoon player being on the audition committee. In my experience some musicians don't look kindly on other instruments appropriating their solos. I don't agree with this; but it does happen. Just ask some cello players about playing one of the Bach cello suites.
BopEuph
pro musician
pro musician

Post by BopEuph »

Thanks for the info!