So I shaved my beard.

The bulk of the musical talk
BopEuph
pro musician
pro musician

So I shaved my beard.

Post by BopEuph »

So obviously, I originally registered on TubeNet as a euph player.

I'm mostly a bassist now, but had this old, beat-up 12J sitting in my corner that I started playing, taking commercial and jazz gigs, then moving into musical theater as a doubler.

About two years ago, I was hired on a Disney gig where growing a beard helped get the job. The show lasted about six months, but I liked the beard enough to keep it around.

Really wanting to tighten up my low range, I've spent the last year really working it. It's been a gruelling process. I decided yesterday to shave to see what would happen.

I now have this incredibly clear, sonorous, articulate low range all the way down to the pedal notes. I figured shaving would help, but I didn't realize by this much! My beard was never long, it was kept really short, but even that was causing issue from low F on down.

Super excited to really cultivate this sound.
Nick
BopEuph
pro musician
pro musician

Re: So I shaved my beard.

Post by BopEuph »

I kinda feel like the beard helped in a way; like adding a handicap while working. Take the handicap away and jump up to the next level. Playing Ride today was actually a little more fun and a lot less taxing.
Nick
proam
bugler
bugler

Post by proam »

My favorite part is all the razor ads that I see surrounding your posts. Harry’s, flamingo ... what will show up next?
BopEuph
pro musician
pro musician

Post by BopEuph »

The sad thing, on mobile, you kinda have to use an ad blocking app just to see a sensible amount of ads. If not, that razor ad would take up at least half the screen.
Nick
BopEuph
pro musician
pro musician

Post by BopEuph »