input wanted on B&S MRP

The bulk of the musical talk
barry grrr-ero
4 valves
4 valves

input wanted on B&S MRP

Post by barry grrr-ero »

I don't think there are many MRP owners out there, but I would like input. I notice that MRP owners don't seem to put on tuning triggers - not even a pull rod on the first valve slide. That, in itself, must say something about them.

I love the size and feel of the Gronitz PCM. Would you say that the MRP is similar (only with rotors)? The M-W "Tuono" seems more PCK like.
Eg88
lurker
lurker

Re: input wanted on B&S MRP

Post by Eg88 »

I’ve been playing Mrp since may 2018. It is an amazing instrument. I changed after been playing 10 years on a pt6.

It is very well in tune, has a big dark sound but still with a lot of core. The low register is very good and the evenness of sound over the three orchestral octaves amazing.

I can really recommend it!
bort
6 valves
6 valves

Post by bort »

BTW, there is an almost new MRP at Dillons that has been there for months... only $11k, much less than brand new! I can't believe nobody has bought it yet. Maybe it has Barry's name on it... :)
Sousaswag
3 valves
3 valves

Post by Sousaswag »

The only thing that bugged me about the MRP (besides the price) was the fact that I couldn't comfortably reach the first slide. I think a pull bar would be great to have if the horn needed it. I didn't play it extensively, but it was on my short list when I was looking for a horn. It is definitely fatter than the Tuono in the bows, and I'd say it's probably a 5.5/4, not quite as big as all the York copies, but close enough. I don't have any experience with Gronitz so I can't really compare.
Meinl Weston 5450RA Tuono
Willson 3200RZ-5
Steginkt
bugler
bugler

Post by Steginkt »

I've heard that the closest analog for size and sound is a Rudy Meinl 4/4
Yamaha Xeno YSL-8820
Willson 3400 Eb
Lyon and Healy Sousaphone
5/4 Rudolf Meinl CC
Wessex trumpet
bort
6 valves
6 valves

Post by bort »