My ITEC 2019 experience

The bulk of the musical talk
Jerryleejr
3 valves
3 valves

My ITEC 2019 experience

Post by Jerryleejr »

Today was a phenomenal Day. Due to schedules we only had the day to experience the exhibits but definitely got to play everything I set out to play. I will go into all the horns and my thoughts but I must say the best part of our experience was the people. Everyone went out of their way to help us and answer questions and accommodate us in everyway. And I cant speak for everyone but I kinda know how other people feel when they meet celebrities. I met Roger Bobo, James Gourlay, Steven Mead the list goes on and on and everyone we came in contact with was so nice and accommodating. So on to the horns. Keep in mind I am an amateur and these are my opinions...

Eb (my main focus)
Willson 3400 Compact.
Willson 3400
Besson 984
Wessex Gnagey
Eastman
Miraphone Norwegian Star
I am not an Eb player so I feel I need to spend time with one before making a final decision However the 2 that I kept coming back to were the Willson 3400 Compact and Besson 984.
What I liked about the Willson ergonomically and aesthetically it ticked all the boxes. It also has a 5th rotor. Sound wise it seemed more dark and did not sing as well in the upper register as the Besson. My issues with the Besson it is four valve and seriously no thumb ring. Yes I can have one added but man. I cant speak to pitch or intonation because it was loud and I was not able to put a tuner on any of them. So my issue is live with the 4 valves and no thumb ring or hope with practice and patients I can get the sound out of the Willson that I achieved on the Besson.
As for the others the Wessex was the most free blowing of the bunch. I really wanted to like the Norwegian Star but if felt stuffy to me. And the Eastman really was disappointing compared to the the others.
BBb
Miraphone Siegfried, Hagen 496/497 191 187
Willson Didnt get the Model number but it was the Big one