Double/Triple Tounging

The bulk of the musical talk
passion4tuba
bugler
bugler

Double/Triple Tounging

Post by passion4tuba »

hey..i've been playing tuba for about 3 years now and i am really trying to figure out how to double tounge, i am aware of the syllables needed (du guh, or dig gah) i can say them but wen applied to the mouthpiece...no success! can someone please tell me what exercises i need to do to ensure a solid and fast double or triple tounge?
BB flat Mira 186
Sidey Helleberg
U. of H Cougar Band
ThomasP
3 valves
3 valves

Can you Whistle?

Post by ThomasP »

When I couldn't double tongue well I tried it while whistling. It helped me. Also multiple tonguing takes a certain amount of perserverance to become proficient at it.
Thomas Peacock
Huttl for life
Schilke 66
windshieldbug
Once got the "hand" as a cue
Once got the "hand" as a cue

Re: Double/Triple Tounging

Post by windshieldbug »

passion4tuba wrote:i can say them but when applied to the mouthpiece...no success!
What does happen?
ufoneum
3 valves
3 valves

Post by ufoneum »

I think Joe Alessi said it best, "I had a teacher who told me that multiple-tonguing is easy - - - simply practice it two hours a day for two years."

For those that want an easier approach: practice the syllables away from the horn. Duh-guh, tuh-kuh, something - whatever works for you. When you can do this at a decent clip, play your scales using the SECOND syllable. Put enough air behind it, and start SLOW. Don't use multiple tonguing as a means to simply play fast. Your single and multiple tongues should overlap by at least 40bpm.
Assistant Prof. of Music - Kentucky Wesleyan College (Owensboro, KY)
Buffet Crampon and Besson Performing Artist
Conductor, River Brass Band (Evansville, IN)
Treasurer, International Tuba Euphonium Association
facebook.com/stuckemeyer
patstuckemeyer.com
MikeMason
6 valves
6 valves

Post by MikeMason »