How hot?

The bulk of the musical talk
Craigtbone
bugler
bugler

How hot?

Post by Craigtbone »

When rinsing out a tuba, how hot is safe for the lacquer and the tuba in general?

I started playing tuba 10 months ago but played trombone for 45 yrs. As I recall the Bach brass lacquer of years ago was quite sensitive to elevated temperatures.

My tuba is a Conn 3J, 1979. The tap water in my bath tub can get just hot enough to be a little painful. Is that hot enough to damage the horn in any way?

My interest in hot water is that I am noticing some oily buildup in the valves. A bit of warm water should be able to flush that out.

Any input is most appreciated.

(I suspect this subject has already been discussed but my searches did not find it)
Ken Herrick
5 valves
5 valves

Oryy about the c

Post by Ken Herrick »

ADD SOME DISH WASHING FETERGENT Sorry about the caps . If it doesn't hurt you, it wont hurt the lacquer - unless it is crap that shouldn't be there in the first place.

(just got home from trying to edumacate sumbudy bout wat theey shudanone better about amyway
Free to tuba: good home
tbonesullivan
4 valves
4 valves

Re: How hot?

Post by tbonesullivan »

A hot water bath is a popular way to go to raw brass on Bach Stradivarius trombone bells that are older than 10 years. It makes the Nitrocellulose lacquer fall right off. Bach has now joined the club and gone to epoxy. So, with older instruments, as bloke described, care is needed. Also, if you have a restored / refurbished older instrument, most smaller shops are not set up for epoxy lacquer baking, and use Nikolas lacquer, which is Nitrocellulose.

Most modern instruments have oven baked epoxy lacquers. You would probably boil them and the lacquer won't go anywhere.
Yamaha YBB-631S BBb Tuba, B&H Imperial Eb Tuba, Sterling / Perantucci 1065GHS Euphonium
Yamaha YBL-621 RII Bass Trombone and a bunch of other trombones
Craigtbone
bugler
bugler

Post by Craigtbone »