Hearing aids advice

The bulk of the musical talk
DannyEldredTuba
bugler
bugler

Hearing aids advice

Post by DannyEldredTuba »

Hello everyone,

Without going into too much detail, I’m losing my hearing. I only have about 20 percent left in my right ear, and 40 in my left. This Thursday I have an appointment to get fitted with hearing aids, are there any other tubists here that have had good results with a certain brand and model? I’m looking for something that doesn’t distort tone quality, especially in lower frequencies . Any thing I should specifically look for? My audiologist really didn’t know how to answer some of these questions. Currently without them it’s hard for me to hear pitch, especially in lower frequencies.

Thanks for the help TubeNet,
Daniel.
MW 5450 Thor
B&S PT-10
B&S GR-51
JZ Euphonium
jbaylies
5 valves
5 valves

Re: Hearing aids advice

Post by jbaylies »

I've been wearing Widex hearing aids since 2012. Ask for a Widex with the 'music' setting. They're expensive, but they've lasted me 8 years of daily use so far. I usually don't practice with the 'music' setting, though, because it's fatiguingly bright. I usually use the 'noisy environment' setting instead.
TubaSailor
bugler
bugler

Post by TubaSailor »

I've had good luck with the Costco (Kirkland) brand - they cost about 1/2 as much as most comparable brands. The distortion I've experienced has been with the higher frequencies (Oboes) but that's where most of the amplification is also. I also have a "Playing Music" mode, which limits the clipping, but I usually turn everything down by about 1/2 while in the orchestra, and 3/4 or more in band.
Rudy RMC50
Rudy 4345R
Mira 181-6GB
Gronitz BBb Kaiser (for sale)
Custom Kanstul 1662
King 4B
York pea-shooter
French Tuba in C
peterbas
bugler
bugler

Post by peterbas »

Deleted
Last edited by peterbas on Fri Mar 17, 2023 4:21 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Yane
bugler
bugler

Post by Yane »