Help me find the right horn....

The bulk of the musical talk
tbone1004
lurker
lurker

Help me find the right horn....

Post by tbone1004 »

Oh boy, this is going to tick off a bunch of people.

Background, I am a professional reed player. Do pit orchestras on flute/clarinet/sax and play bassoon in regional symphony orchestras. I played tuba in high school/college marching band and a bit in concert bands. I've always loved the instrument and now that I'm in a financial position to do so, want to invest in a tuba.
Since I've played in BBb for almost 2 decades *admittedly not much in the last 10 years until this summer*, work with students in BBb and this will primarily be used for things like outdoor summer pops concerts, I want to keep it in BBb. I want a BIG tuba. I'm a big guy and am primarily a low reed player and have always loved playing the big 6/4 Martins at Furman and NC State and a few of my buddies big York clones when I was attempting to learn to love CC *didn't work for me*.

Here's the problem, I don't know what I don't know, and while I'm not a bad tuba player, I am not a professional by any means. I know there is a law of diminishing returns from the woodwind world where you hit a point where the nuances of the higher end ones can really only be appreciated by the true professionals, but by the same token there is a MASSIVE difference between say the $4k St Petersburg that I have from the local high school that I work with and the $10k Miraphone 186 that I used when I was in high school.