Looking for a replacement bell for a Conn 12J

Post here if seeking to buy music related items.
Forum rules
Reminder: "Go fund me" requests are not allowed and should be reported. All requests will be deleted. If you are Looking to trade an instrument, We are requiring all ads to have the following information. Approximate trade value, Brand, Model, and location (for instruments, not accessories)
roburt3
bugler
bugler

Looking for a replacement bell for a Conn 12J

Post by roburt3 »

Hey all,

So the bell on my 12J is an absolute mess.

It has been crumpled in many ways on many occasions (before I bought it) and the previous owner has already filled in some of the cracks that have formed(and reopened in some spots) as the bell has been repaired, and crumpled again.

Now i'm an amateur brass tech as well, so I've got it rolled back to a very rough approximation of in shape, but I'm wondering if anybody has a bent up (but not torn) bell that they wouldn't mind selling!

It wouldn't have to be perfect by any means, but i feel like my efforts would feel much more rewarding with a tuba that has no rips in the brass!

Any input on this kind of project would also be greatly appreciated!

Thanks in advance,

Rob
Besson 3v Recording Compensator, Leningrad 3 Rotor BBb Helicon, Yamaha YBB 321, several YBB 103's
roburt3
bugler
bugler

Re: Looking for a replacement bell for a Conn 12J

Post by roburt3 »

Bump! Anyone? I should be able to use any of the 18" Conn bells if I'm not mistaken?

The donor bell wouldn't have to be perfect by any means, but as long as its not ripped/torn I should be able to work out almost any other kind of damage with satisfactory (enough for my purposes) results.

Thanks again,

Rob
Besson 3v Recording Compensator, Leningrad 3 Rotor BBb Helicon, Yamaha YBB 321, several YBB 103's
Tubajug
5 valves
5 valves

Post by Tubajug »

Contact Dan Schultz (TubaTinker on the board). He built me a replacement for my Bach tuba I owned a few years back.
Jordan