Firebird bumper replacement gone wrong

Repair and modification discussion
jordandewester
lurker
lurker

Firebird bumper replacement gone wrong

Post by jordandewester »

I took my Miraphone Firebird tuba in to a local shop to get the valves realigned and the original cork bumpers replaced with Neoprene. The material the repair tech used is SUPER bouncy, to the point that I can't play slurs without the sound being interrupted by the rebound of the valve. It's an orange-ish color. Not sure what it is, but it wasn't what I was expecting. Not to mention, they didn't align the valves properly either, which was the whole point.

What should I do at this point? Obviously I can't keep the valves as-is, but should I go back and ask for a different Neoprene material? Just get cork again? I was hoping to switch to Neoprene for the forseeable future, but this clearly won't do. Has anyone encountered this type of material before, or even just a similar situation?

(I'm a college student, and pretty inexperienced with repair. Just looking for general guidance.)
Last edited by jordandewester on Mon Jul 20, 2020 10:21 am, edited 1 time in total.
KingBassTrombone
bugler
bugler

Re: Firebird bumper replacement gone wrong

Post by KingBassTrombone »

I'm not entirely sure of the different types of Neoprene, but I've never had Neoprene bumpers that didn't bounce like that. It's not so bad with lighter valves, but if the rotor itself is heavy enough or there's a lot of spring tension on it, it needs something more substantial than Neoprene to soak up all that rotational inertia. All of the bumpers on the rotors I have (which, to be fair, are all on trombones) have rubber bumpers, and those valves (including the oversized rotors on my bass trombone) don't bounce. If Neoprene doesn't end up working out, I'd consider rubber bumpers.
Matt Walters
The Tuba Whisperer
The Tuba Whisperer

Re: Firebird bumper replacement gone wrong

Post by Matt Walters »